At $18 for 5kg, I thought that Envizyme’s Gondwana Fertilizer was quite costly when I saw it on Tuesday. However, some small instinctive voice in me told me you idiot! You should have bought it! For whatever reasons it thought I should have bought it, I really don’t know.

I read up the information printed on the fertilizing package. It contains small amounts of the major elements – NPK – and also relatively small amounts of all the other trace elements which plants need. It was the small values which first convinced me somewhat: if the values are small, it means that I have little worry of introducing any disproportionate amounts of any nutrients in, and any mistake is probably more easily corrected than not.

The second point…well…was that darn instinct nagging at me throughout the few days to the weekend of last week. So…okay, okay, I get it. Off I went to World Farm on a Sunday to buy this product, but it’s only today that I’ve sprinkled small tablespoonfuls of them on top of my plants’ topsoil, like mulch.

It is said on the Envizymes’s website that (I quote from them ad verbatim): Envizyme’s Gondwana Minerals is made from natural minerals that are needed to enhance nutrient stability and conditioning the structure of undesirable soil.

It also functions as a soil treatmentagent that is able to fix soil pH levels from acidic(pH3-5) to neutral pH levels(pH 6-7).

Gondwana is a full spectrum fertilizer filled with minerals and electromagnetic energy (helps draw nutrients to the roots). Gondwana contains all vital attribute that are required to fuel the natural life cycles in soil.

According to someone who works at World Farm, he heard that the electrolytes are attracted to the roots of the plants, and congregate there, drawing nutrients to the roots, and also providing protection against root rot, since excess water is claimed to bypass the protected roots. One can either sprinkle them in the pots or over the soil like typical fertilizers, or mix the Gondwana fertilizer in when one is mixing the soil.

The only icky thing I find about this (more of a personal weird quirk) is that when I water it, it seems as if it turns into some oily, muddy sludge. Perhaps I’m too much of a visual person. The smell though, is strange but subtle, and sometimes pleasant.

Let’s see how my plants look or feel say…a week from now.

