This is a miscellaneous post, but since it has to do with being in a local gardening forum, and plants, and people’s behavior, I thought I should post about it.

Many of us spend money – hard-earned money, I should add – on the plants we have now. As newbies to any forum, we might find things really novel and new, and might (I emphasize this word) not know where to get the plants which interest us and caught our attention. To me, that’s perfectly fine.

I was a newbie once. I was a student then with less money than I could spend now. However, I PMed people asking if they could 1) direct me to where they bought the stuff they had, which I wanted, or 2) asked if I could buy (another emphasis) what I wanted from them. If they offered me that for free, it was definitely much appreciated. 90% of my plants and seeds were bought, or gifted to me by friends (note this word).

There have been many newbies to the Green Culture Singapore forum in the two years I’ve been there, who, upon joining and having less than ten post counts (which, really, speaks no more than a desire not to contribute knowledge and information) PMs various people all at once, asking – and sometimes in rude tones – for free stuff.

Sorry, I’m not that generous. I’d offer things to those members or people who have spent some time actually making their own contribution to the forum, or showing an eagerness to learn without asking for anything in return; I will offer things to friends whom I’ve spoken to for years; I will offer to the newbies whom I’ve seen show an interest honesty and respect; I will NOT, however, offer anything to someone who joined only in June this year, have most of his posts in the forum asking for things or simply commenting on things without the desire to learn or share, and keeps PMing me asking for more extras.

Oh, sure, I have more than enough surpluses. But I would prefer to give those away to the few who have taken the time to know and interact with me, and who show some genuine interest in both gardening, and as a person. Even now, two years down the road, when I ask for any freebies given out, I make the offer of an exchange on my part to the person, and if he doesn’t accept the offer on the spot and insists on giving me the seeds or plants free, then I make sure that the offer remains open in the future. If I want more seeds from someone else other than what he offers, then I offer to pay or have an exchange, every single time.

I’m a bitch? Sure. For this, I like it this way. I’ve never said I was generous to strangers, and I don’t expect strangers to be generous towards me.

I want something, I’d be willing to pay for it if it’s within my means.

If some or all of those newbies who are or have been doing this reads this post, all the better. Let it be known, then. I have no more money than I have right now, and I’m struggling to sustain my passion. I don’t see why anyone else should leech off of me, or I should leech off others.

