“What is usually forgotten is the real nature of aggressiveness, which in its truest sense simply means forceful action. This does not necessarily imply physical force, but instead the power of energy directed into a material action” – Seth

I’m an eclectic spiritualist in the sense that I take from different practices what resonates most strongly with me. I’ve pursued a shamanic path in its barest form; I’ve tried the ‘new age’ stuff like Rainbow Healing and all that jazz. But it wasn’t until i was introduced to channelled material by Seth through Jane Roberts in the 1970s that many things sat so well with me my belief system has turned greatly to you create your own reality (YCYOR).

How does this relate to plants and gardening? It definitely has connection to the quote I’ve included above.

A seed is probably the most basic form of propagation any gardener knows in gardening. Of course, there are various other ways – both vegetative and not so – of propagation, but I’m going to use seeds for simplicity’s sake.

A seed is usually a hard case, containing potential life within it. For the life within that hard case to sprout takes a form of aggressive thrust, to break open the safety barrier from which it is encased within. To do this, the ‘conditions’ must be right, in the sense where the energy inside surges forth to produce the seedling, to surge through boundaries and take root.

I’ve used intent and visualization to help me sprout some supposedly notorious and hard to sprout seeds, namely the comfrey and Indian blanket flower. I imagine directing the flow of energy within each seed into one single direction and encouraging them to become a plant. I seem to have a decent amount of success in it, judging by the number of comfrey plants I have now, and the number of blanket flower seedlings as well.

It’s the same idea with the unfurling and thrusting forth of flowers from their petals, in encouraging roots to grow from any cuttings, and in so many other aspects of life and gardening.

I’ve come to respect this natural aggression and to appreciate it in its various manifestations through my plants. After all, without this natural aggression, we wouldn’t have plants at all – nothing would sprout, nothing would bloom, nothing would root or fruit or whatever else.

